ESTA (Electronic System for Travel Authorization)

ESTA (Electronic System for Travel Authorization)

A system that allows passengers to visit the United States under the Visa Waiver Program (VWP).Visitors were allowed to sign up in 2008 August, and the travel authorization was made obligatory from 12th January 2009. Getting authorized by ESTA does not mean that a person is allowed to enter the United States, the U.S. Customs and Border Protection officers do that when the person arrives.

To apply for authorization ESTA, ESTA, an online application form asking for information regarding bio data and questions regarding applicant’s VWP eligibility is filled and submitted before traveling along with its requirements. The requirements of this Electronic System for Travel Authorization are:

Electronic System for Travel Authorization are:

o     Applicant’s information to contact on

o     A passport that is valid and belongs to the Visa Waiver Program (VWP) countries

o     Payment of $14 through credit card from which the $4 is the processing fee and $10 is the authorization fee which can be refunded if application is rejected

o     Applicant’s recent information on their employment

When you receive an acceptance of your application, write down your request number which is required to check the status of your process or to update your information such as any change in the citizenship of a country, change in gender or change in name.

Airlines have been forced to ask for ESTA during check in ever since January 20, 2010.

Once submission of the application is complete, you will receive approval. In situations where the approval is delayed keep checking the website till 72 hours at least, for any updates regarding your application.

Visa Wavier Program (VWP)

All passengers who are traveling internationally and want to travel to the United States under the VWP have to get authorized before applying.

Applicant’s authorization will depend on whether:

o     You don’t have a visitor’s visa at the moment

o     You are a national or have the citizenship of the Visa Wavier Program countries

o     You plan to stay in the United States for 90 days or less

o     You wish to apply for an authorization of another person or a group of people having two or more applicants

The VWP includes a total of 38 countries in the program which are Malta, Monaco, France, Germany, Chile, Sweden, Japan, Ireland, Spain, Slovakia, Taiwan, Italy, Hungary, Estonia, Portugal, Denmark, Norway, Austria, Brunei, Australia, Finland, Czech Republic, Singapore, United Kingdom, Lithuania and so on. There are some passport requirements specific for Visa Wavier Program, that is:

o     The travelers passport should be electronic with a digital chip that will contain the passport owner’s biometric information

o     The travelers passport should also have a biographic page containing a machine-readable zone

From 1st April 2016, all travelers who want to use the Visa Wavier Program should have an e-passport, including babies. An e-passport is your key to obtaining an authorization ESTA to the US. Anyone suspected of a fake or invalid passport will be deprived of their ESTA or any opportunity of visiting the US in the future.